The Charity is governed by a team of seven Trustees, four of whom are appointed by Walberswick Parish Council, two co-opted by the Trustees and one ex-officio Trustee provided by the Sole Bay Team Ministry. The current Trustees are shown below.


   Richard Leiper KC Chairman (N)

First appointed a Charity Trustee in November 2021.  Richard is a practising barrister who also sits part-time as a Recorder in the Crown Court. He is chair of the Advisory Council to the Litigant in Person Support Strategy and is the former chair of the Employment Law Bar Association. He moved to Walberswick in 2020 with his partner, who has family roots in the village. 


  Revd Russ Gant (EO)

First appointed a Charity Trustee in April 2024.  Russ is the Team Rector of the Sole Bay Churches which includes the parish of St Andrew’s, Walberswick.  He is Suffolk born and spent his honeymoon in Walberswick many years ago, cementing a love for the village and its community.  Prior to ordination Russ worked in local government, his last role being that of Town Clerk and Chief Executive of Diss Town Council in Norfolk.

  Graham Humphrey (C)

First appointed a Charity Trustee in January 2023.  Graham and his wife have been homeowners in the Village since the late 1990’s retiring full time to the Village in 2018. A chartered surveyor who, prior to retirement, was the development and finance director of an Ipswich based property company. Graham has previous voluntary experience having served as parish councillor, charity trustee and parochial church council member before retiring to Walberswick.

Image of David Pelly  David Pelly (N)

First appointed a Charity Trustee in May 2022.  David and his family have been frequent visitors to Walberswick for over 20 years and finally moved to the village in 2018. With a background in finance and management, he currently runs a pension fund for a civil service trade union but plans to retire this year leaving more time for his interests in gardening and nature conservation.

  Mrs Stephanie Renouf (N)

First appointed a Charity Trustee in March 2022.   Born and educated in Norwich, Stephanie started her career as a journalist with the former Eastern Counties Newspapers (now Newsquest) based in Lowestoft as its arts writer assigned to cover the newly created Southwold Summer Theatre. A move into PR and running an East Anglian-based Consultancy followed and latterly she worked with Suffolk Community Foundation, Suffolk Agricultural Association as well as a global attractions consultancy, The Lightbox gallery in Woking and the Sainsbury Centre. During her 20 plus years in the village she has chaired the Village Fete and is currently vice-chairman of St Andrew's Church PCC. Her skills set does not include helping out in a kitchen or baking, so please don't ask!

Photo of Hannah Sutton  Mrs Hannah Sutton (N)

First appointed a Charity Trustee in January 2015.  Hannah was brought up in Halesworth and moved to Walberswick in 2008 She and her husband Lee live in Church Lane and have two daughters. After an initial career in caring, Hannah became a Teaching assistant at Yoxford & Peasenhall Primary School in 2019. She first became a Trustee in 2015 and has taken a lead role in organising Village events for children, including the children's club, Christmas party, summer sports and performing arts. Hannah's passion is ensuring that Walberswick remains a safe and welcoming place for families to enjoy.  

  Ms Vanessa Tucker (C)

First appointed a Charity Trustee in June 2022.  Vanessa moved to the village in December 2013 following a career in education in the North West.  The move was precipitated by the purchase of a Vineyard in Wissett which Vanessa and her partner ran as a sustainable venture for 8 years.  Sustainability has long been her passion and she is keen to help Walberswick steward its amazing environment.

N = Nominative Trustee appointed by Walberswick Parish Council C = Co-optative Trustee appointed by the Trustees EO = Ex-Officio Trustee

Any questions or comments about the work of the Charity will be welcomed by the Trustees. 
For all matters, please contact the Clerk, Matthew Wetmore, using our Contact Form or email:
Postal Address: WCLC, PO Box 73, Halesworth IP19 0AU


More about the work and operations of the Charity can be found in the Policies & Reports section